The Australian Nursing and Midwifery History Project

The Australian Nursing and Midwifery History Group

 Location Contact
 ACTDr Maxine Dahl
E-mail
: mcdahl@grapevine.com.au
Area of interest: all aspects of Royal Australian Air Force nursing, women in the military

Ms Marilyn Gendek
E-mail: mahgen@tpg.com.au
Area of interest: ephemera, especially stamps and postcards
 NSW

Dr Mavis Gaff-Smith
E-mail
: mavis.gaff-smith@bigpond.com
Area of Interest: midwives, nurses, women's health, education, regulation and practice

Dr Judith Godden
Honorary Associate, Department of History (A14) University of Sydney
E-mail: judith.godden@sydney.edu.au
Area of interest: History of the Women's Hospital (Crown Street) Sydney, biography, Nightingale nursing

Dr Trudy Rudge
Sydney Nursing School, The University of Sydney
E-mail: trudy.rudge@sydney.edu.au
Area of interest: biography, Nightingale nursing, social context of nursing

Ms Elizabeth Skinner
PhD Candidate, University of Sydney Medical School
E-mail: 81_kensingtonst@live.com
Area of interest: midwifery and women's health, feminist theory

 

 

 QLDDr Odette Best
E-mail: odette.best@qut.edu.au
Area of Interest: indigenous nurses, policy, oral history

Ms Sue DeVries
Email: sue@de-vries.ws
Area of interest: all aspects of nursing history

Dr Wendy Madsen
Faculty of Sciences, Engineering and Health, Central Queensland University
E-mail: w.madsen@cqu.edu.au
Area of interest: nursing, health, teaching nursing history

Dr Margaret McAllister
Centre for Mental Health Nursing Innovation, Central Queensland University
Email: m.mcallister@cqu.edu.au
Area of interest: teaching history of nursing in undergraduate curriculum, mental health
 SADr Mayumi Kako
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Flinders University
E-mail: mayumi.kako@flinders.edu.au
Area of interest: education and governance, disaster nursing 
 TAS
 VICDr Janet Butler
School of Historical and European Studies, La Trobe University
E-mail: J.Butler@latrobe.edu.au
Area of interest: World War I

Dr Madonna Grehan
Nursing, School of Health Sciences, The University of Melbourne
E-mail: mgrehan@unimelb.edu.au
Area of interest: women's health, nurses, midwives, education, regulation and practice, military nurses

Dr Kirsty Harris
School of Historical Studies, The University of Melbourne
E-mail: kjharris@unimelb.edu.au
Area of interest: World War I, Australian Army Nursing Service, women in the military

Ms Helen Hamilton
Australian College of Nursing
E-mail: helenham@bigpond.com
Area of interest
: all aspects of nursing history

Ms Jennifer Rabach
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Victoria University
E-mail: Jennifer.Rabach@vu.edu.au
Area of interest: operating theatre nursing

Mrs Marie Rogers
E-mail: rogermr@alphalink.com.au
Area of interest: all aspects of nursing history

Dr Natisha Sands
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Deakin University
E-mail: natisha.sands@deakin.edu.au
Area of interest: mental health nursing

Ms Susan Sherson
E-mail: susan.sherson@mh.org.au
Area of interest: all aspects of nursing history

Ms Robyn Waymouth
Royal Women's Hospital, Parkville
E-mail: robyn.waymouth@thewomens.org.au
Area of interest: women's health, archives and collections 

Dr Pamela J Wood
School of Nursing and Midwifery, Federation University
E-mail: pamela.wood@federation.edu.au
Area of interest: NZ nursing history, midwifery, maternity services, public health, history of dirt, typhoid fever, convalescence
 WADr Carol Piercey
School of Nursing and Midwifery, University of Notre Dame
E-mail: Carol.Piercey1@ndu.edu.au
Area of interest: all aspects of nursing history, education

Dr Linda Shields
Tropical Health Research Unit for Nursing and Midwifery Practice, James Cook University and Townsville Health Service District
E-mail: linda.shields@jcu.edu.au
Area of interest: all aspects of nursing history, education, paediatrics
 NZDr Kate Prebble
School of Nursing, The University of Auckland
E-mail: k.prebble@auckland.ac.nz
Area of interest: NZ nursing history, psychiatric and mental health, disability, gender

top of page